Archetype Rules

The archetypes on this site are available for use in the Spheres of Power system. Some also include material from the Spheres of Might system. Although many of these archetypes alter the spells class feature of their classes, they are still compatible with many existing archetypes, feats, and other options using the following special rules:

  • If an archetype includes diminished spellcasting, the archetype loses the magical talents gained at 2nd, 8th, 14th, and 20th levels.
  • If an option alters or adds to spell lists, that part of the feature simply has no effect.
  • If an option adds spell known (for spontaneous casters), the class instead grants one extra magical talent at the first level these spells become known. Only one talent is gained per group of spells known given. If the spell can be altered, then the magical talent can be altered under the same rules. Replacing spells known has no effect.
  • If an option grants proficiency with all martial weapons, the option can instead grant a martial tradition (if one is not already known).
  • If an option allows a player to spend spell slots, they may spend an equal number of spell points instead. The equivalent spell level of the spell point is equal to 1/2 the caster level of the character, rounded up, to a maximum of 9.
  • Options that grant a wizard’s arcane bond class feature may substitute the arcane bond option available to the cosmic sage.
  • Spell-like abilities are left unchanged.
  • If an archetype, feat, or other feature requires a specific type of spellcasting (such as arcane or divine), a spherecaster qualifies.

At the GM’s discretion, these rules may be applied to any SoP or SoM archetype.

This website uses cookies. See the Legal & OGL page for important information. Any material NOT covered by the Open Game License Version 1.0a is covered by the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License.